The Vikings in Berlin

In the exhibition, "The Vikings", the great museums of three of Europe’s cultural capitals – Copenhagen’s National Museum of Denmark, London’s British Museum and Berlin’s Museum of Prehistory and Early History – set out in search of a people shrouded in myth: the Norsemen. Although many of the exhibits are displayed in all three locations, each stage of the exhibition nevertheless has a unique character of its own.

The Berlin exhibition centres around the restored Danish longship, Roskilde 6, which is on display for the first time. The huge vessel takes up the whole of the large atrium of the Martin-Gropius-Bau. At 37 metres long, it is the largest Viking ship so far discovered, and it forms the focal point of the exhibition. It was built around 1025 for use as a warship and was rediscovered in the harbour area of the town of Roskilde in 1996/97. A section of the hull and the entire 32 metre-long keel of the vessel have survived. After meticulous conservation lasting from 1997 to 2012, the original timbers are now embedded in a specially made steel framework which recreates the shape and original dimensions of the ship.

A highlight of a quite different kind is provided by shipbuilders from the Viking Ship Museum in Roskilde. Throughout the entire duration of the exhibition they will be at work, reconstructing a Viking longship using techniques originally employed by the Vikings themselves. This project is being funded by the Danish Krak Foundation and the Danish embassy. But it is not only inside the museum that Viking vessels can be seen. On 6 September 2014, a real Viking longship, the "Havhingsten fra Glendalough" (Sea-stallion from Glendalough) arrived on Berlin’s River Spree, manned by six oarsmen. The "Sea Stallion" will drop anchor alongside Schiffbauerdamm 19, opposite the ARD-Hauptstadtstudio and not far from Friedrichstrasse station. It will be open to the public every day from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. until 14 September. The transportation of the ship and its crew have also been funded by the Krak Foundation.



Tickets

Tours

Die Wikinger in Berlin

Mit der Ausstellung „Die Wikinger“ begeben sich die großen Museen dreier europäischer Kulturmetropolen auf die Spuren der sagenumwobenen Nordmänner: das Dänische Nationalmuseum Kopenhagen, das British Museum London und das Museum für Vor- und Frühgeschichte der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin. Auch wenn ein Großteil der Objekte an allen drei Orten gezeigt wird, hat doch jede Station einen ganz eigenen Charakter.

Die Ausstellung in Berlin stellt das restaurierte dänische Wikingerschiff Roskilde 6 in den Mittelpunkt. Im Martin-Gropius-Bau füllt das gewaltige Schiff mit Segel den großen Lichthof. Mit 37 Metern Länge ist die Roskilde 6 das bisher größte erhaltene Wikingerschiff. Seine erstmalige Präsentation ist das Highlight der Ausstellung. Die Roskilde 6 wurde um 1025 für den Kriegseinsatz gebaut und 1996/97 im Hafengebiet der Stadt Roskilde wiederentdeckt. Bis heute erhalten sind ein Teil des Rumpfes und der gesamte 32 Meter lange Kiel des Schiffes. Die originalen Teile wurden von 1997 bis 2012  aufwändig konserviert und werden in einem speziell angefertigten Stahlgerüst präsentiert, das die Form der Roskilde 6 und ihre ursprüngliche Dimension erlebbar macht. 

Ein ganz anderer Höhepunkt ist der Nachbau eines Wikingerschiffes während der gesamten Zeit der Ausstellung durch die Schiffbauer des Wikingerschiffsmuseums in Roskilde. Sie benutzen dabei originale Techniken, wie sie auch die Wikinger anwendeten. Gefördert wird die Aktion von der dänischen Krak-Stiftung und der dänischen Botschaft. Anlässlich der Ausstellung wurde mit dem Schiff „Havhingsten fra Glendalough“ (Seehengst von Glendalough) am 6. September 2014 in Berlin ein echtes Wikingerschiff über die Spree gerudert.  Das Schiff liegt noch bis zum 14. September am Schiffbauerdamm 19, gegenüber dem ARD-Hauptstadtstudio und unweit des Bahnhofs Friedrichstraße, vor Anker. Es kann täglich von 10 bis 19 Uhr besucht werden. Der Transport des Schiffs und die Reise der sechzig-köpfigen Besatzung werden ebenfalls durch die Krak-Stiftung ermöglicht.

Tickets

Führungen